Too Many Memories

February 6, 2010 at 8:25 am 1 comment

The only thing I know to do is withdraw, be quiet, acknowledge and own the pain…and turn to God’s Word for comfort…to fill my mind and heart with a message from Him.  Tonight, the family watched “Tootsie,” with Dustin Hoffman, a movie from the 80’s that Dan and I enjoyed immensely…together.    It was a comedy with a deep message for men and women, about relationships, and about what IS important in life.

Unexpected things ripping open the fragile wound again and again – the only way out of the pain is through it.  I don’t want to go to bed…I don’t know what unconscious thoughts make it so hard to go to bed.  That began when we learned that Dan had cancer.  I felt as though if I slept, he might need my help and I wouldn’t hear him…or that he might die while I was sleeping.  But that’s not the case now.

The help I need comes only from the Lord.  Tonight, He gave me 2 Samuel 23 and 24.  There are many important messages in those 2 chapters.  What stood out tonight is the last oracle of David as recorded in 2 Sam. 23: 2 – 7:

“2 “The Spirit of the LORD spoke through me;
his word was on my tongue.

3 The God of Israel spoke,
the Rock of Israel said to me:
‘When one rules over men in righteousness,
when he rules in the fear of God,

4 he is like the light of morning at sunrise
on a cloudless morning,
like the brightness after rain
that brings the grass from the earth.’

5 “Is not my house right with God?
Has he not made with me an everlasting covenant,
arranged and secured in every part?
Will he not bring to fruition my salvation
and grant me my every desire?

6 But evil men are all to be cast aside like thorns,
which are not gathered with the hand.

7 Whoever touches thorns
uses a tool of iron or the shaft of a spear;
they are burned up where they lie.”

Think on these things.  Where do you stand?  Is your house right with God?   That’s the only way to true peace.  — Anne

Happier Days in Redstone, Colorado

Together in Ciuc, RO, '06

"Those were the days, my friend...oh, yes! Those were the days!" in Brasov, RO '03

Waiting for the plane to the next mission point.

Wearing one of my dresses from Ghana, I carried the Romanian flag on Mission Sunday in Texas. Now, I go on...without Dan...living in Romania...walking with my hand in the hand of the Man who calmed the sea.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

My Thoughts Turn Towards Home Sunshine in California; Blizzards in Other Places

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  February 9, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Anne,
    I love the photos! Thank you for sharing with all of us.
    Love you,
    Sherrie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

