The Good, Bad and the Brrrrrrrrr!

March 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm 1 comment

The Good News - Beauty surrounds me after snow falls!

What can I say??? “Brrrrrrrrrr!  Baby, it’s cold outside!”  Songs from my youth keep popping into my head.  Instead of “Raindrops, keep falling on my head,” it’s “snowflakes keep swirling round my head!”  And, “I’m dreaming of a White Christmas!”  Make that, “I’m dreaming of a White Easter!”

The good news – oh, there’s so much!  I have a very warm, full length parka.  My lungs are adjusting to the cold! I had a lovely 2 hour walk after church today.  AND —  God has provided help to buy a new Skoda Fabia at about the same price as a good, 8 year old Skoda.  The government and car dealers are offering great deals.  Unbidden, God’s people are helping with funds!

The bad news – my new Ferrolli electric furnace – said to be a big money saver using wood pellets…is a lemon. Nothing but trouble since we installed it.  Tonight, it blew the fuse on the outside electric fuse box.  There was no heat or electricity for a couple of hours. Ferrolli engineers can’t make my furnace work.  The good/bad news – I have a backup heating system but it costs about $560 a month to use it to heat this 1,000 sq. ft. house.

Other mixed bag news – the “sour cabbage” that Guzsti made for me makes my fridge smell like something is really rotten in Transylvania, but, OH, MY, it tastes delicious!  There’s only about 1 cup in the fridge, but the cover came loose.  Every time I go in the kitchen, I start looking for that smell…and, then remember, “it’s my Hungarian sour cabbage.” I’ve got to keep that stuff in a jar with a tight lid.

The good news – my dog, Bogey, comes when he hears me unlock my front gate, or even open my door.  He wants my good home cookin’ or a long session of scratching around his ears.  Today, my ride did not come, so I walked the 30 minutes to church.  Bogey walked with me the first 15 minutes.   I’m really enjoying having a faithful outdoor dog who is such a good guard dog and friend.  God is filling my life with special opportunities of service in His name.  What more can one wish for on this earth? — Anne

“Can’t you see the central issue in all this?  It is not what you and I do. It is what God is doing, and He is creating something totally new…a free life!” – Galatians 6:15, The Message

Guzsti and Aranka's house just West of me makes sunshine even on a cloudy, snowy day!

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

Please Pray for Rachel Rachel’s Progress Is Hopeful

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  March 15, 2010 at 3:20 am

    Anne,
    I am happy you still have your sense of humor! Very funny stuff written above except for the part about no heat on a very cold Romanian day … Brrr! Not much fun! I hope you have heat today … or at least a lot of blankets and warm clothes to wear until you can get heat. Maybe a generator would be helpful or a wood burning stove? I sympathize totally with the no heat situation.

    Very happy your good canine friend, Bogy, is faithful to you and loving you and giving you opportunity to love him in return. So glad he protects you and walks 1/2 way to church with you and enjoys your home cooking. And, I love the Sunshine House! What a hopeful view to see each day. The beautiful photos of the snow are glorious! Thank you for sharing.
    Love, Sherrie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

