Joy in the Midst of Pain

June 19, 2010 at 8:05 pm 1 comment

God continues to give me joy by offering opportunities to mentor special people who serve others in this land.  In the absence of my earthly family here, these fine people gather around me to help, to protect, to advise, to pray for me…even to help with the heavy work of my big vegetable garden.  Some asked about my garden…

Every morning, I first gather fresh lettuce, radishes and onions to eat with my free range eggs and peasant potato bread.  After the vegetables are in the kitchen, I set up the sprinklers to water the garden before the scorching sun appears.  Theoretically, I can set the two sprinklers (that are on spikes that I stick into the ground) and leave them running for 10 minutes.  Piece of cake!  as we say in the U.S. about something that is easy to do.

But this is ME, and this is Romania!  Theoretically, if I place them in 8 specific areas (2 at a time), I can be finished with watering the garden in an hour. Then there’s the front yard with grass, 2 rock gardens and 12 rose bushes. Actually, the time required to water depends upon how many times the connections come apart, how many times I get totally drenched by the water shooting from the hoses!  It’s an adventure.

However, at this moment, seeing the beautiful plants thrills my soul – bush yellow beans, cucumber, cabbage (both green, and red), broccoli, strawberries, a few carrots, radishes, onions (both yellow, and red), 12 tomato plants, parsley, pole beans, spinach, etc. grace my back yard along one side fence and the back end of the yard.  Eating the fruit of our labor almost makes up for the dowsing I receive most days!

The plums are growing plump.  Miniature apples are appearing on branches.  Tiny cherries and pears are beginning. I sure can use some help with freezing and canning all this at harvest time.  Any takers???

“…he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness.  2 Corinithins 9:12

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, it produces a harvest .” Hebrews 12:11

Think about these words.  Is there a message in them for you?  There surely is one for me. — Anne

First, the beds had to be dug, and prepared for planting. Jozep, Guszti, Sisi, and Marti all helped.

Aranka came over to inspect the new bed Sisi dug. If you look closely, you can see little cabbage plants to the right of Aranka.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone, Finding Direction Without Dan.

Some Who Help My Work

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  June 19, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Anne,
    You are becoming quite the gardener! I am impressed! I’m impressed with the lovely souls that help you also. Looks beautiful and wonderful! This story reminds me (in a way) of the movie “Under the Tuscan Sun” as the main actress in the film moves to Italy and re-starts a very new life for herself in a very new land & culture … she loves her new residence & gains many rewarded blessings for doing so including many new friends who are like family to her.

    Wish I could eat some of the fresh lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, onions, parsley, apples… it’s making me hungry! I mean, you have a whole garden full of salads! I love it. Reminds me of my step-mom’s garden … my mom had the gardeners green thumb and could grow just about anything. I think you will be able to feed the hungry there just in your own backyard! ;-]

    Love you,
    Sherrie Hammond

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

