Reasons to Give Thanks

June 24, 2010 at 12:44 pm 1 comment

My Green House in June, 2010 - the pile of small rocks near the center bottom of the photo are being used to make a path around the side and back of the house all the way to the garden as well being placed around the back foundation to deflect rain from going into the basement.Clouds formed well before rising up to 3,500 ft. elevation begin to cover the mountain ridge.

Have you ever been on a mountain high enough to experience the clouds rising from below the ridge across from you?  In Texas, where I went to school, when the clouds touched the ground, it was usually a tornado destroying everything in it’s whirlwind path.  But these clouds today are so beautiful, billowing, quietly rising from behind the neighboring mountain top, enveloping the land as they ascend higher and higher.

For days now, construction AND the daily rain makes my road impassable, a big mud field.  Most of the way from my car up the mountain side, there is a solid path to walk on…just now and then there is nothing but soft mud to step into.  Living on the NW edge of town, I am experiencing what Romanian village life is like.   Wednesday evening I visited  Zsuzsa to help her with 4 yr old Agoston while Anna got her 4 months shots, and I comforted everyone.  Unable to drive up my road, I parked my car down near where 1 May joins Canepei.  Walking home, I was very thankful to be wearing my gardening shoes.

As I trudged up the muddy path, I saw in front of me a young mother and a middle aged grandmother walking with their family.  The ladies had on sandals.  I wondered if the shoes would withstand the wet mud.  I couldn’t help but think about their cold, wet feet.

God gives me something special to pray about every day…and much for which to be thankful.  I pray continually that He will show me the way, helping me to be a blessed tool in His hands.  — Anne

Joco (in English pronounced something like Jutso), my gardener and handyman is a jack of all trades and a Master of Many. The vegetables ready to harvest now are onions, lettuce and radishes. As you can see from the small tomato plants to the left of Joco's feet, it will be awhile before tomatoes appear.

In my entrance hall, Joco is putting together the Bosch electric lawnmower that Guzsti selected for me.

LST Announcement posted at the street entrance to the free Advice Bureau on 1 December 1918 Street, in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania

Eva and Bea, Young Professionals, Red Cross Volunteers, are reading with LST for the 3rd time right now.

At Red Cross Camp, when the rain broke up the running games outdoors, the kids moved inside. This young camper accompanied them on some songs.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone, Finding Direction Without Dan.

Challenges Come Shock Waves

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  June 24, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    I love the photo of your house, property, & mountains in the background … beautiful scenery! You are so richly blessed with abundance. You even have a terrific gardner and handyman helper, too! God supplies for our every need. Praise His Name! I enjoy all the photos, captions, and your story that unfolds each day in Romania. Thank you for sharing.
    Love,
    Sherrie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

