Sometimes the Hard Thing Is the Best Thing

November 10, 2010 at 7:03 am 1 comment

Sziszi (standing) and Guszti made this look easy!

Sometimes, we do what we have to…especially when it comes to those we love.

The hardest thing I have ever done was to calmly encourage Dan when we knew he was not long for this earth. In our early marriage days, I cried, refused to talk about life insurance for Dan. In my young mind, if I talked about it, I had to face that one day I might be without him.

When the time came that we knew he was going Home soon, God gave us the strength to calmly say all the things we needed to say. Dan helped me look at, and make plans for my life without him.

Knowing that it is far better to be with the Lord than to stay in this body, I calmly spoke with Dan about the days ahead…for both of us. He now has the Perfect Life, the life he looked forward to most of his days on earth.

And my life? Except for a few things, I live the perfect earthly life. Yes, in Romania…the perfect life. I live on the side of a mountain, in a beautiful apple green house. Good, decent God-loving friends abound. The Lord gives me joyful work to do helping others.

Will I ever stop missing Dan? I don’t know the answer. But God gives me strength for the journey, all that I need each day. So, I say, “Do the hard thing that you fear! On with the Adventure!” — Anne

“God will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus…” Phil. 4:19

God's love gave us this sunrise to feed our soul.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone, Finding Direction Without Dan.

A Picture Is Worth a Thousand Words? Whose Birthday Today?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Eileen Emch  |  November 10, 2010 at 7:36 am

    *Sometimes the hardest thing is the best thing.* That’s worth savoring at length. Thank you, Anne. I always enjoy your blog posts – and the photos really ARE worth a thousand words! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

