How Dark Before There Is No Light?

June 2, 2011 at 1:22 am Leave a comment

Dr. Akbani, my Oncologist/Hematologist/Internist at Arlington Cancer Center stunned me with the news yesterday, “Half of the cancer that was in your body is now gone.” God is answering our prayers!  Yet we are still in the middle of this battle.  In the last few years, darkness has nearly overwhelmed me at times.  In a way, my life has been no different than many others.  We’ve lost loved ones through death or breakup of family. We’ve fought life threatening illnesses.  Everyone has a story.

The question comes again and again…how dark does it have to be before there is no more light?  I’m discovering in my walk with Large Muscle B Non Hodgkins Lymphoma that it is pretty much up to me how much darkness there is.  I’m a Clinical Social Worker.  I’ve helped many people work their way out of the “black dog of depression.”

However, knowing what to do when it is my darkness, has been a challenge.  (It is said that Abraham Lincoln and Winston Churchill spoke of struggling with the “black dog of depression.”)  This is too deep of a subject to be dealt with lightly.  I just want to share with you what is working for me.

God has sent many angels disguised as humans to me because I keep crying out to God.  I learned all over again when the darkness is overwhelming, turn on the light in the room, pray for help to deal with the pain, the fears, and then make myself begin to thank God for any and all blessings in my life.  In a few minutes, the room and my soul are flooded with Light.  It takes practice, but God is always here with us…maybe waiting for you to ask for His help.  He cares, but you have to let Him in. — Anne

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God…” Philippians 4:6  (Did Paul know what he was talking about?)

 

 

Entry filed under: but Not Alone, Cancer's Dark Valley.

Learning about Old Age The Children of Transylvania Need Your Help!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

