A Good Day in Spite of Pain

August 17, 2008 at 6:11 am 1 comment

Though the mass continues to grow larger causing more pain, Dan’s energy and appetite increases slightly each day.  It seems that the worst part of the attack from the second dose of chemo is past.  Dan is able to be out of bed for several hours at a time.   During those times, we are having fine conversations covering many areas with our family here.  Scott and Michelle are helping us to think more clearly about the challenges in our life.

Tonight, after dinner, Dan spoke from his heart with the grandchildren about what we are dealing with. Because he is an Intentional Follower of Jesus, he has peace in his heart.  Jesus promises us a home with Him if we give our lives to Him.  We are grateful that loved ones all over the world continue to pray for Dan’s healing. Dan believes God still has work for us to do for Him. 

A dear friend in Romania gave us permission to share her encouraging, tender letter with you.  It expresses what so many there have said to us —

“Dear Anne and Dan,

There is no sequence of a day without thinking of you!  And no day passes without a prayer – as simple as I can do, but it is still a prayer – for you. I have read the news and I am aware of the fact that it must be extremely difficult …

There is no word to say how much I am waiting for you back here – and I hope that the day comes!

I wish you strength, I wish you the first beams of a wonderful summer morning sun!
I am with you!

Love,  EB”

At the close of this day in Montara, California, we wish you all strength and the peace that only God can provide.  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Peace in the Midst of the Storm Where Is Your Hope?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Hello, I’m glad the worst is over (for the moment). I’m glad Dan can visit and be out of bed for several hours visiting with his family. These are the joyful blessings God gives each day–and God gives these blessings one day at a time. Love and hugs to you, Sherrie

    God’s Promise: “Because the Sovereign Lord helps me, I will not be disgraced. Therefore, have I set my face like flint, and I know I will not be put to shame. He who vindicates me is near. Who then will bring charges against me? . . . Who then is my accuser? . . . It is the Sovereign Lord who helps me (Isaiah 50:7-9-NIV).”

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031